Home / Lead Story / Anxiety grips DIGs as new IG Arase assumes duty today

Anxiety grips DIGs as new IG Arase assumes duty today

Incoming IGP Arase.
Incoming IGP Arase.

Following the surprise sacking of Mr Suleiman Abba as the Inspector General of Police and subsequent appointment of a Deputy Inspector General, Mr Solomon Arase, as his replacement, there appears to be palpable fear among other DIGs, as the new police chief officially assumes office today, in Abuja.

Sources within the force confirmed to Global Patriot Newspapers, today that the seven remaining DIGs fear their fate may be hanging as Arase assumes office as he is expected to reshuffle the force in line with the convention of the force.

It would be recalled that in August last year, the then newly-appointed IGP Abba while in acting capacity had ordered the reassignment of 8 Deputy Inspectors-General, DIGs and 28 Assistant Inspectors-General, AIGs of Police.

Abba had ordered, with immediate effect, the posting of eight DIGs and 28 AIGs to various departments, zonal commands and formations.

Those involved in the reorganisation included: DIG Dan’Azumi Joba Doma, Hilary Opara, Sotonye Leroy Wakama, Mamman Ibrahim Tsafe, Solomon Arase, Saliu Argungu Hashamu, Kakwe Christopher Katso, and David O. Omojola.

Following the current change of guards, there is now a high level of apprehension among the DIGs regarding their continued stay in the force as they also sense that the newly-appointed IGP would do away with them in line with the convention within the police.

There are also strong indications that the newly-appointed IG may pick new DIGs from within the existing 28 AIGs.

These include: AIGs Sule Mamman Ballah Magaji Nasarawa; Kalafite Helen Adeyemi, Adisa Baba Bolanta, Tambari Muhammed, Umaru Abubakar Manko, Mohammed Jinjiri Abubakar, Adeola Adeleke Adeniji, Musa Abdulsalami Daura, Mark Adamu Idakwo, Mbu Joseph Mbu, Christopher Tehrem Dega, Usman Akila Gwarry, Bala Hassan, Ambrose O. Aisabor, Mohammed J. Gana, Jubril Olawale Adeniji, Edgar Tam Nanakumo, Sabo Ringim Ibrahim, Chintua Amajor-Onu, and Lawal Tanko.

Others are: Felix Osita Uyanna, Joel Kayode Theophilus, Ibrahim M. Maishanu, Godfrey E. Okeke, Yahaya Garba Ardo, Wilfred Eje Obute, and A.J. Abakasanga.

Meanwhile, the All Progressives Congress (APC) has declined to comment on both the sacking of Suleiman Abba as the IG or the subsequent appointment of Arase as his replacement.

When contacted by Global Patriot Newspapers on the development in the Police Force, the party spokesman, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, declined comments.

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

President Buhari receives Ambassadors of Gambia, Congo at State House; Economy: Facts are stubborn – Presidency

President Muhammadu Buhari has received letters of Credence from the incoming Ambassador of the Republic …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *