Home / News / Local / APC fixes Ondo governorship primary for August 27; as Ambode heads Edo APC campaign

APC fixes Ondo governorship primary for August 27; as Ambode heads Edo APC campaign

Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, National Chairman of APC
Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, National Chairman of APC
Ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has released the time-table for the conduct of the party’s 2016 governorship primary election for Ondo State.
The party’s National Organising Secretary, Senator Osita Izunaso made the announcement in a statement issued, Sunday.
Izunaso said the announcement was in line with the provisions of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended), the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) guidelines and Party guidelines.
According to the time-table and schedule of activities, sale of forms will commence at the Party’s National Secretariat from Tuesday 19th July to Friday 5th August, 2016. Governorship nomination forms will be sold at N5 million while intending aspirants are expected to pay N500, 000 to pick expression of interest form. The forms are free for female aspirants.
The last day for submission of completed forms is Monday 8th August, 2016 at the APC National Secretariat.
Screening of aspirants will be conducted in Abuja from Tuesday 9th to Friday 12th August, 20th while election will hold Saturday 27th August, 2016.
Election Appeal will hold from Monday 29th August to Thursday 1st September, 2016.
Meanwhile, Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, has been appointed Chairman of the National Campaign Council of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the September 10 governorship election in Edo State.
The council comprises serving governors and deputy governors, former governors and deputy governors, serving ministers, senators, members of the House of Representatives and other prominent APC members across the country.
The maiden meeting of the council, which held immediately after its inauguration, was attended by the Imo State Governor and the Chairman of the APC Governors’ Forum, Rochas Okorocha; Adams Oshiomhole (Edo), Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano), Simon Lalung (Plateau), Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna, co-Chairman) and Mohammed Abubakar (Bauchi).
The governors of Niger, Nasarawa, Jigawa, Borno, Kwara, Oyo and Kogi states were represented by their respective deputy governors.
Also present were the National Chairman of the APC, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun; the Deputy National Chairman (South), Mr. Segun Oni; the National Organising Secretary, Senator Osita Izunaso; a national leader of the party and a former governor of Osun State, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola; Minister of Labour and Productivity, Dr. Chris Ngige; and the South-South zonal chairman, Mr. Hilliard Ettah.
While inaugurating the council on Saturday in Benin, Odigie-Oyegun, charged the members to ensure a convincing victory for the ruling party, with the numerous achievements of the incumbent governor.
He explained, “It is an election which we should, and I am sure (we) will win relatively easily. I say that because this is a state that for decades has been, so to speak, privatised until the advent of the current administration. It is an election where even the blind can say he is aware of the development that has taken place.
“It is an election that even the dumb and the deaf will say they are aware of the great strides that have taken place in Edo State, especially in the wake of the 10 immediate preceding years of the current administration.”
Odigie-Oyegun continued, “So, as comrade would say, this is not a state where you earmark projects and programmes. It is a state where you eyemark them. You see them; you actually see them on the ground.”
“So, my charge to this committee is not that they should deliver Edo State; it is a lot more than that. It is that they should deliver Edo State with a margin that tells the whole story.”
Responding on behalf of members of the national campaign council, Ambode, who was represented by el-Rufai, pledged the commitment of the council to deliver on its responsibility.

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

Former ‘new PDP’ constitutes committees on state of the nation

In what may signal further division within the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC,  members of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *