Home / News / Saraki, Ekweremadu elected Senate President, Deputy

Saraki, Ekweremadu elected Senate President, Deputy


Against the wishes of the leadership of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Senator Bukola Saraki of APC and Senator Ike Ekweremadu of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, have emerged Senate President and Deputy Senate President, respectively.


Immediate past President of the Senate, Senator David Mark was elected Senate Leader in a show of strength by the PDP and a strong revolt by APC Senators who felt that their party leaders wanted to impose leaders on them.
The leadership of the APC which has majority of members in both the Senate and House of Representatives had wanted Senator Ahmed Lawan to become the President of the Senate and Senator Akume to be the Deputy President, but a combination of forces of Senators elected on the platforms of the APC and the PDP has thwarted the aspiration.
The new leadership of the Senate has since been sworn in.

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

Naira appreciates against dollar at investors’ window

 By Fabian Ekeruche  The Naira on Tuesday appreciated to N360 to the dollar at the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *