Home / News / Local / Bayelsa Revenue Board Chairman pledges to prioritize infrastructure if elected Governor

Bayelsa Revenue Board Chairman pledges to prioritize infrastructure if elected Governor

Dr. Nimibofa Ayawei

Dr. Ayawei Nimibofa, the Executive Chairman of Bayelsa State Board of Internal Revenue (BIR), on Monday said that he would prioritise provision of infrastructure if elected Governor.

Nimbofa and 14 others have purchased the expression of interest forms to contest the governorship position on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Speaking to newsmen in Yenagoa, Nimbofa said his governorship ambition was backed by various stakeholders, groups and individuals across the state  ahead the governorship election in Bayelsa slated for Nov. 16.

The BIR Chairman said he decided to run for the governorship position to consolidate on the gains of the current administration in the critical areas of infrastructure development, youth empowerment, and economic diversification.

He also pledged to ensure that the robust education policy of Gov Seriake Dickson led. administration is further expanded under his watch.

According to Nimbofa, if elected, Bayelsa people will get a fair deal as he would run an all-inclusive government that would prioritize human capital development.

He further assured that a new era of progress and development has come and appealed to all to key into it.

Other aspirants who have collected the  PDP nomination forms so far include former Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) Managing Director, Chief Ndutimi Alaibe, former cabinet member in the state, Mr  Reuben Okoya and an ex-militant leader, Great Joshua MacIver.

Others are the incumbent Deputy Governor, Rear Admiral Gboribiogha Jonah (rtd.); a businessman, Kenebi Okoko; former Commissioner for Works and Transportation, Mr Franklin Osaisai and Chief Benson Agadaga.

Rep. Fred Agbedi, Sen. Douye Diri, representing Bayelsa Central; Chief of Staff Government House, Mr Talford Ongolo and Secretary to the State Government, Mr Kemela Okara, have also collected nomination forms.

On the side of the All Progressives Congress, (APC), former Minister of State for Agriculture, Sen Heineken Lokpobiri, has picked the expression of interest form for N2.5 m.

The aspirants on the APC platform are expected to pay a total of N22.5 million, comprising N2.5 m for expression of interest and N20 m, for the nomination form payable to APC National Secretariat.

Each of the 15 PDP aspirants paid N1 million for the expression of interest form while an additional N20 million is to be paid to the PDP National Secretariat on submission.

Also expected of the aspirants is the payment of a N3 million administrative levy to be paid to the state Executive of the party.

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

Election: APC ‘ll reclaim Edo, says Sylva

By Deji Abdulwahab Abuja, July 14, 2020 The Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Mr …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *