Home / Arts & Entertainment / Facebook expands Coronavirus Information Centre to 24 more African countries

Facebook expands Coronavirus Information Centre to 24 more African countries

Johannesburg, 24th April 2020

Facebook has announced the expansion of its Coronavirus Information Centre to 24 more countries in Africa as part of its ongoing commitment to empowering people around the world with timely and accurate news from trusted health authorities.

The Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information Centre is featured at the top of News Feed and provides a central place for people to keep informed about the Coronavirus. It includes real-time updates from national official sources, regional and global organizations such as the Africa Center for Disease Control and the World Health Organization as well as helpful resources – articles, videos and posts – and tips about social distancing and preventing the spread of COVID-19.

Facebook users can opt-in to the Centre to get notifications and see updates in their News Feed from official government, regional or global health authorities.

Facebook’s Director of Public Policy, Africa, Kojo Boakye, says: “Facebook is supporting the public health community’s work across the world to keep all communities informed during the coronavirus pandemic. We are happy to provide nearly every country in Sub-Saharan Africa with its own Information Centre so people across the continent have a central place to find authoritative information around COVID-19.”

The new countries where Facebook is launching the Coronavirus Information Centre are:

· Botswana

· Burundi

· Central African Republic

· Comoros

· Congo

· Djibouti

· Equatorial Guinea

· Eritrea

· Eswatini

· Gambia

· Guinea-Bissau

· Lesotho

· Madagascar

· Malawi

· Mozambique

· Namibia

· Rwanda

· Sao Tome and Principe

· Sierra Leone

· South Sudan

· Tanzania

· Uganda

· Zambia

· Zimbabwe

The Coronavirus Information Centre is already in place in the following sub-Sahara African countries:

· Benin

· Burkina Faso

· Cameroon

· Cape Verde

· Chad

· Côte d’Ivoire

· Ethiopia

· Gabon

· Guinea

· Kenya

· Mali

· Mauritania

· Mauritius

· Nigeria

· Senegal

· Seychelles

· South Africa

· The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)

· Togo

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

 UN General Assembly President champions Small Island Developing States, announces ‘Sustainability Week’ at COP28 (Read full text)

Dubai, 1 December 2023  The President of the United Nations General Assembly (PGA), Mr. Dennis Francis, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *