Home / News / Local / Senate announces ministerial list; Amaechi, Fashola, Fayemi, Ngige included; screening to commence next Tuesday

Senate announces ministerial list; Amaechi, Fashola, Fayemi, Ngige included; screening to commence next Tuesday

Senate President, Bukola Saraki
Senate President, Bukola Saraki

The much-anticipated President Muhammadu Buhari’s ministerial list handed over to the Senate late September 31, has been formally read out on the floor of the legislative house with the notable presence of already touted names.

The Senate President, Senator Bukola Saraki, Tuesday morning, read out the list of 21 ministers including three female nominees on the floor of the Senate.

The Ministerial-nominees include already known names like: Abdurahman Dambazzau,  ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) National Publicity Secretary Lai Mohammed,  immediate past Lagos State governor Babatunde Raji Fashola, immediate past Rivers State governor, Rotimi Amaechi, former Anambra State governor Chris Nigige, immediate past Ekiti State governor Ekiti State governor Kayode Fayemi.

It is expected that following the unveiling of the list, the formal screening session will dominate proceedings at the house for the next two weeks.

Following is the complete list of the 21 ministers out of the expected 36 nominees, who were announced by Senator Saraki that includes former governors and senators:

nominees which includes former governors and senators:

Suleiman Adamu

Kemi Adeosun

Aisha Alhassan

Rotimi Amaechi

Solomon Dalong

Abdulrahman Dambazzau

Osagie Ehanire

Babatunde Fashola

Kayode Fayemi

Ahmed Musa Ibeto

Amina Ibrahim

Ibrahim Usman Jubril

Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu

Abubakar Malami

Lai Mohammed

Chris Ngige

Audu Ogbeh

Ogbonnaya Onu

Adebayo Shittu

Hadi Sirika

Udo Udoma

Meanwhile, the Senate President, Bukola Saraki announced, Tuesday, after reeling out the ministerial nominees that formal screening of the 21 ministers designate will begin next Tuesday after verification and authentication process by the senate.

The decision was taken after he had officially unveiled the lists of the ministers as forwarded to his office last Thursday.

However, Minority Leader, Godswill Akpabio, raised a Motion of Constitutional Matter to draw the attention of the Senate to the anomaly at the plenary, as he noted that the 21-man list instead of the expected 36-man list of ministerial nominees violates the constitution of the country.

Senator Mao Ohuabunwa, (PDP), Abia North, had on Monday stated emphatically that the ministerial list is expected to be complete in line with the Constitution.

He made it clear that any list that does not cover the 36 states of the Federation will suffer serious opposition on the floor.

He also disclosed that the Senate might be forced to invite President Muhammadu Buhari to the Chambers to undergo screening if he insists on holding the office of the Petroleum Minister along with his job as the president of the nation.

“Constitution does not support ministers by batches. Every state must be represented but if the number is not complete, some of us may raise constitutional issues. Else, if we have to wait for another three months for him to send another list comprising representatives of other states, it means those states would be non-functional” he said on Monday while throwing lights into what will pan out on the floor of the Senate.

However, Senator Dino Melaye dissociated the senate from the comments made by Senator Ohuabunwa on the need for President Buhari to present himself for screening, saying on Monday that the comments are personal opinion of Ohuabunwa and does not represent the collective opinion of the senate.

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

FG kick-starts 58th Independence Anniv. celebration with Photo Exhibition

  The Federal Government has kick-started activities lined up for the commemoration of the 2018 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *