Home / Arts & Entertainment / APGA chieftains applaud Gov. Soludo’s 20-man commissioner nominees list 

APGA chieftains applaud Gov. Soludo’s 20-man commissioner nominees list 

Prof. Soludo

By Chimezie Anaso

Awka, March 30, 2022

Chieftains of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) on Wednesday in Enugu commended the list of commissioner nominees submitted to the Anambra House of Assembly by Gov. Chukwuma Soludo on Tuesday.

They described the list as home-grown and a reflection of the expectations of the masses.

Gov. Soludo, in an unprecedented step, attached portfolios of the nominees to the list.

Chief Rommy Ezeonwuka, a leader of the party, said the governor kept his promise to submit the list of nominees in record time.

Ezeonwuka noted that the nominees have rich credentials and expressed confidence that they have the capacity to drive the policies of the Soludo administration to address the development challenges of Anambra.

He charged the nominees to bring their expertise and energies to bear and align them with the vision of the governor and expectations of Anambra people when they are confirmed.

“I expect them to improve the education, health, sports and agriculture sectors, sanitise the environment and bring sanity to land and housing sectors.

“This cabinet will kick start the `Vision 2070’ project and their appointment is an opportunity for them to contribute their quota,’’ he said.

In his remarks, Mr Mark Okoye, the immediate past Commissioner of Economic Planning, Budget and Development Partners, said the list spoke of the foresight of the erudite economist governor.

Okoye said to properly execute the audacious but feasible “Soludo Solution’’ agenda for Anambra, the calibre of intellectuals nominated as cabinet members was a great first step.

He described Soludo’s manifesto as comprehensive, exciting and a game changer for the state, adding that to achieve the vision, he required a strong and highly-competent cabinet.

The former commissioner stressed that Soludo’s cabinet choice was a masterstroke and expressed the hope that the House of Assembly would approve it as quickly as possible so it could get working.

“I deeply appreciate how the governor quickly constituted his cabinet.

“From the list, you can see that he is completely focused about inviting people with capacity to serve; people whose actions and decisions will impact positively on the lives of the electorate.

“It is a great honour to all the people of Dunokofia, my local government area, to have our brother, Prof. Offonze Amucheazi recognised and invited to serve. He will make us proud.

“Developing an effective 21st century technology-driven land administration department is critical to achieving Gov. Soludo’s promise to Anambra people. I trust Prof. Amucheazi to deliver on this and more.

“I have sent my prayers individually to the commissioner-nominees.

“I promise to do everything to ensure that the Soludo administration makes Anambra a liveable and prosperous state that creates abundant economic opportunities for young men and women in record time,’’ Okoye said.

In Soludo’s list are Mr Ifeatu Onejeme (Finance); Prof. Offonze Amucheazi (Lands); Mr Ifeanyi Okoma, (Works and Infrastructure); Ms Chiamaka Nnake (Budget and Economic Planning) and Dr Afam Obidike (Health).

Others are Mr Patrick Mba (Youth Development); Mrs Ifeyinwa Obinabo (Women and Social Welfare); Dr Obinna Ngonadi (Commerce and Industry); Mr Julius Chukwuemeka (Power and Water Resources) and Prof. Chuma Ude (Education).

Also on the list are Paul Nwosu (Information); Dr Forster Ihejiofor (Agriculture); Mrs Patricia Igwebuike (Transport); Mr Chinedu Odumegwu (Environment) and Mr Chikodi Anara (Homeland Affairs).

Prof. Sylvia Ifemeje (Attorney-General and Justice), Mr Collins Nwabunwanne (Local Government, Chieftaincy and Community Affairs) and Mr Donatus Onyenji (Culture, Entertainment and Tourism) also made the list.

Gov. Soludo also named Barr. Anthony Ifeanya (Petroleum and Mineral Resources), and Mr Paulinus Onyeka (Housing) as part of the list.

About admin

Check Also

Mock Accreditation: Why INEC migrated voters to new units – Official

By Ijendu Iheaka Mrs. Rebecca Jim, Head, Voter Education and Publicity, INEC Abia on Saturday …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *