Home / News / Local / Coalition of NGOs in Sokoto elects new leaders after 12 years
Map of Nigeria showing Sokoto State

Coalition of NGOs in Sokoto elects new leaders after 12 years

Sokoto Jan. 14, 2023

The Coalition of Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) in Sokoto State (CONSS) on Saturday elected new leaders to steer its affairs for the next four years.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the coalition held its last election of the outgoing executives in 2011.

NAN also reports that the coalition is an umbrella body of all Civil Society Organisations (CSOs), Community-Based (CBOs) and Faith-Based Organisations (FBOs) in the state.

Affirming the election of the new leaders, Mr. Ibrahim Kangiwa, the electoral committee Chairman said the process was very successful as expected.

Kangiwa, said that the committee has worked with all the stakeholders in the process to avoid rancour and anything that could distract the peaceful coexistence of CONSS after the poll.

“We are able to harmonise the process and ensure that today we are only here to affirm our new leaders unopposed.

“This is following the understanding and maturity exhibited by some of us who wanted to contest and voluntarily withdrew to enable a smooth transition.

“As such, we highly appreciate our stakeholders, the immediate past leaders and any one of us who in one way or another supported the process to succeed,” he said.

In his remarks, Mr. Ibrahim Shuni, the CONSS outgoing Chairperson, described the day as the most important one in the history of the coalition.

“We have overstayed in the outgoing leadership of CONSS not intentionally but due to some circumstances that warranted such delay.

“However, today, we are celebrating a new leadership that will continue to steer the affairs of the coalition who are people of reputable character,” he said.

Shuni appreciated the CONSS members while appealing for their support toward ensuring the success of the new leaders.

“My greatest achievement is that, when we came on board, we met CONSS as one family and today we have succeeded in leaving the coalition as it is.

“Let’s continue to sustain our legacy of staying under one umbrella that will continue to remain our only shade,” he urged.

In his acceptance speech, Mr. Bello Gwadabawa, the elected Chairperson, lauded the members for the confidence reposed on them.

Gwadabawa promised to provide a platform where all the members would be included in any action or decision to be taken by the leadership.

“There is a great task ahead of us in the next four years which requires collective responsibility by all of us.

“I am certain that the team of the new leadership can manage even a country not to talk of the coalition with your support and guidance,” he said.

The new executives include Dr Ahmed Musa, Dr Abdulrahman Matawalle, Mr. Peter Maji, Zainab Aliyu and Nura Suleiman, the Vice Chairperson, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Financial Officer and PRO, respectively.

Others are Ibrahim Gada, Mukhtar Sani, Yusuf Ibrahim, Binta Ibrahim and Muhammad Umar, as Council Members, Human Rights, Peace and Security, Gender and Social Inclusion, Health, Sustainable Livelihood and Environment and Education, as well as Good Governance, respectively.

About admin

Check Also

Catholic Church welcomes new apostolic nuncio

By Uchenna Eletuo Lagos, July 16, 2024 The Catholic Church in Nigeria  has welcomed the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *