Home / News / Local / 2021/2022 NPFL Season ends, Rivers United lifts trophy

2021/2022 NPFL Season ends, Rivers United lifts trophy

Matchday 38 games of the 2021/2022 Nigerian Professional Football League season were decided on Sunday, July 17, 2022 across ten venues.

In Port Harcourt, Champions, Rivers United defeated Gombe United 1-0 before receiving the league title before a cheering crowd led by the Rivers State Governor Nyesom Wike.

Second placed Plateau United were 1-0 winners over Enyimba International and Remo Stars comfortably defeated Niger Tornadoes 3-0.

Rangers International FC defeated Akwa United 2-0 while Wikki Tourists thrashed Katsina United into the second division with a 3-0 win.

Abia Warriors defeated Lobi Stars 3-0; relegated Kano Pillars were 2-1 winners over Shooting Stars of Ibadan while Dakkada FC defeated Sunshine Stars 3-0 to secure safety on the last day.

Already, relegated MFM lost 0-1 to Nassarawa United in Lagos while Heartland FC was relegated to the second division despite a 1-0 win over Kwara United.

Rivers United, Plateau United and Remo Stars have secured continental spots while MFM FC, Kano Pillars FC, Heartland FC and Katsina United are relegated from the NPFL

The date for the commencement of the 2022/2023 season has not been released by the League Management Company.

About admin

Check Also

Access Bank unveils ‘Love is More’ campaign for Valentine

By Aderonke Ojediran Lagos, Feb. 6, 2023 Access Bank has unveiled several discounts and mouth-watering …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *