Home / News / Local / APC wins Etsako Federal constituency by-election
INEC Chairman, Prof. Yakubu

APC wins Etsako Federal constituency by-election

INEC Chairman, Prof. Yakubu
INEC Chairman, Prof. Yakubu

Mr Johson Oghuma, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate has emerged the winner of the Etsako Federal Constituency by-election in Edo State.

Oghuma emerged winner with 39,876 votes to defeat the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Mr Jude Imagwe, who polled 18,193 votes.

The Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Shola Omotola who announced the result at about 12:45 am on Sunday morning declared the APC candidate winner having scored the highest number of votes at the election.

“I Prof. Shola Omotola hereby certify that I was the returning officer for Etsako West Constituency by-election.

“And that the election was contested and that Mr Johson Oghuma of the APC, having certified the requirement, is hereby declared winner of the election,” he said.

Omotola said that total valid votes were 58,427, rejected votes 874 while total votes cast was 59,301.

Speaking to newsmen, the winner of the election Mr Johson Oghuma assured the people of the constituency effective representation.

“I want to assure Etsako people that I will not fail them.

“I will represent them well and their voice will be heard and I will not disappoint them,” he said.

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

Agip’s divestment: Diri failed in Oando takeover deal, says LP candidate

 The Labour Party (LP) Governorship Candidate in Bayelsa State, Comrade Udengs Eradiri, has accused the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *