Home / Lead Story / Kashamu’s election nullified, Umeh loses appeal; as Election Tribunals announce rulings

Kashamu’s election nullified, Umeh loses appeal; as Election Tribunals announce rulings

Buruji Kashamu
Buruji Kashamu

The embattled Senator representing Ogun East Senatorial District in Ogun State, Mr Buruji Kashamu, has had his election victory nullified by the National and State Assemblies Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital.

Though, the Tribunal did not grant the seat to the petitioner, Prince Dapo Abiodun of the All Progressives Congress (APC), it however, ordered fresh elections in 110 poling units in the area.

Abiodun had dragged Kashamu to the Election Tribunal following the outcome of the March 28 National Assembly elections.

Kashamu is presently facing extradition to the United States by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), a case that has clouded Kashamu’s victory.

Delivering his judgement, the Tribunal Chairman, Justice Ebiowei Tobi, said that the election was marred with irregularities and non compliance with the Electoral Law.

“We do not feel comfortable to nullify elections in Ogun East when 146,533 votes are valid because of 37,008 unlawful votes,” the tribunal chairman added.

The tribunal also nullified the election into the Federal House of Representatives from the area, won by the PDP being represented by Mr Adekoya Adesegun, while it upheld three state’s House of Assembly elections.

Adekoya was removed along with five other members of the House of Assembly – Wale Alausa, Bowale Solaja, Adejuwon Oyenuga, Adebowale Vinwanu Ojo and Razaq Oduntan representing Ijebu-Ode, Ijebu North I, Ijebu East, Ipokia and Egbado North II constituencies respectively, all members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

However, four PDP members of the House of Assembly – Julianah Akintayo (Yewa South) Olujimi Otukoya (Ijebu North East‎), Jemili Akingbade (Imeko-Afon) and Mojeed Olusesan (Sagamu II‎) – were lucky as the tribunal upheld their elections.

It dismissed two applications of the APC and ordered fresh election in five state constituencies.

In other landmark rulings by the Elections Tribunal, the petition by former National Chairman of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Sir Victor Umeh, challenging the victory of Hon. Uche Ekwunife of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Anambra Central Senatorial Zone elections, was thrown out for ‘lack of merit.’

The tribunal declared Dozie Nwankwo of APGA winner of the April 11, 2015 election for Njikoka/Dunukodia/Idemili North/South Federal Constituency, nullifying the declaration of Dr Okey Eze of the PDP as the winner of the Dunukofia, Anaocha and Njikoka federal constituency election.

Earlier, the tribunal chaired by Justice A. Aganaba declared former Speaker of the Anambra State House of Assembly, Hon. Anayo Nnebe, who contested the election under the umbrella of PDP, winner for Awka south/Awka North Federal constituency.

In Lagos, the National Assembly Election Petitions Tribunal sitting in Ikeja upheld the victory of the Majority Leader of the House of Representatives, Mr Femi Gbajabiamila.

The tribunal held that Gbajabiamila of the All Progressives Congress (APC) validly won the March 28 election for Surulere Federal Constituency I in Lagos State.

The three-man tribunal led by Justice C.U. Anwuka resolved all issues raised in favour of the respondent.

The tribunal consequently dismissed the petition filed by the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Mr Tony Ashikodi, for failing to prove the allegations of electoral fraud.

Ashikodi had petitioned the tribunal, challenging the outcome of the election.


About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

NIMASA Floating Dockyard to save Nigeria N36bn annually –  Dakuku Peterside   …Facility to be operated on PPP model

 The multimillion dollar floating Dockyard owned by the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *