Home / News / Local / Lagos gov’t inaugurates Selection Committee for Dangote Foundation’s grant
Aliko Dangote

Lagos gov’t inaugurates Selection Committee for Dangote Foundation’s grant

Aliko Dangote
Aliko Dangote
Lagos State Ministry of Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, in collaboration with Dangote Foundation, has inaugurated the Local Government Dangote Foundation Micro Grants’ Beneficiary selection committee for women in the State.
Speaking at the Adeyemi Bero Auditorium on Tuesday, venue of the event, the State Commissioner for the Ministry, Hon. Lola Akande said the Committee is saddled with the responsibility of selecting, nominating and presenting eligible candidates as prospective beneficiaries from Ward Level to the State Government for final approval before they can access the Dangote Foundation Micro Grants.
While commending Dangote Foundation for its magnanimity in wanting to reduce poverty among women by empowering them, Akande disclosed that the programme was aimed at boosting the household income generation of disadvantaged women such as widows, divorcees and special people, adding that each beneficiary will be awarded the sum of N10, 000 and a Mobile Phone.
According to her, “In view of Government’s commitment to raising the standard of living of the people and its attempts to reduce the level of poverty among residents in the State, the present administration is appreciative of the collaborative gesture from corporate bodies such as Dangote Foundation and would welcome more of such”.
In his remark, Mr. Musa Bala, the Program Manager of Dangote Foundation stated that Lagos State is the sixth beneficiary of the N10 Billion nationwide programme by the company having done same in five other states before, adding that the N400 million Lagos project was meant for the economic empowerment of vulnerable widows and socially disadvantaged women in the State.
While enjoining members of the committee to be fair in selection of beneficiaries, Bala urged them to make equity and fairness their watch words in the selection process.
The Eight Member Committee include representative of Executive Secretaries of Local Government and Local Council Development Areas, representative of Traditional Institution in the benefitting Community, one representative each from the Islamic and Christian Organisations, Representative of Youth groups from community based organizations, two non- partisan, non- religious community members, and Community Development Officer/Welfare Secretary while the representative of the Executive Governor, Hon. Lola Akande will chair the Committee.

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

NIDCOM-USAID partner on Diaspora engagements

Abuja, April 15, 2024: The Nigerians in Diaspora Commission (NiDCOM) has secured a strategic cooperation …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *