Home / News / Local / Ministerial list: Lokpobiri congratulates Sylva over nomination 

Ministerial list: Lokpobiri congratulates Sylva over nomination 

Chief Timipre Sylva
Senator Heineken Lokpobiri

Sen Heineken Lokpobiri, former Minister of State for Agriculture on Tuesday congratulated Chief Timipre Sylva over his ministerial nomination to represent Bayelsa in the Federal Executive Council.

The development is sequel the transmission of the list of Ministers by President Muhamadu Buhari to the National Assembly for confirmation.

The nomination of ex-Gov Sylva as a Minister is believed to pave way for Lokpobiri to clinch the All Progressives Congress, APC, ticket ahead of the November guber elections in Bayelsa.

Lokpobiri in a message to Sylva immediately after the announcement said, “Congratulations Your Excellency on your appointment and I wish you the best of luck in your new position as Minister of the Federal Republic.”

Lokpobiri described Sylva’s appointment as “Very well deserved,” adding that with this development Bayelsa APC is further positioned to wrestle power from the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in the state.

Lokpobiri who is the only APC gubernatorial aspirant that has collected forms so far from Bayelsa said he remains optimistic that the November 16, 2019 gubernatorial election in the State will go the way of APC.

He noted that Sylva’s appointment is a clear indication that, “APC is growing and making great progress in leaps and bounds especially in Bayelsa ahead the Nov 16 guber polls.”

Lokpobiri was a senator representing Bayelsa West for two terms and a former Speaker of the Bayelsa State House of Assembly.

 No fewer than 15 aspirants have so far picked the expression of interest forms on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Aspirants who also collected the PDP nomination forms include former Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) Managing Director, Chief Ndutimi Alaibe, former cabinet member in the state, Mr Reuben Okoya, and an ex-militant leader, Great MacIver.

Others are the incumbent Deputy Governor, Rear Admiral Gboribiogha Jonah (rtd.), businessman Kenebi Okoko, former Commissioner for Works and Transportation, Mr Franklin Osaisai and Chief Benson Agadaga.

Rep. Fred Agbedi, Sen. Douye Diri (Bayelsa Central), Chief of Staff Government House, Mr Talford Ongolo, and Secretary to the State Government, Mr Kemela Okara, have also collected nomination forms.

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

The imminent collapse of Eko Bridge By Sonny Iroche

Handle: @Irochesonny Our nonchalant attitude to governance and preemptive action against avoidable calamities as a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *