Home / News / Local / NSCDC deploys 1, 000 personnel for Anambra senatorial re-run

NSCDC deploys 1, 000 personnel for Anambra senatorial re-run

NSCDC Commandant General, Abdullahi Gana
The Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC) has deployed 1,000 security personnel for the conduct of Jan.13 re-run election in Anambra Central Senatorial District.

The State Commandant, Mr John Ahwen, who disclosed this to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Friday in Awka, said the number would support over 4, 000 personnel deployed by the Nigeria Police Force.

Ahwen explained that 500 out of the figure would be deployed to the polling units, while others would assist in the patrol of the areas where the election will take place.

The NSCDC official said the personnel with other security agencies have concluded arrangements on the re-run election, with expected high success level as was achieved during the Nov.18 governorship election in the state in 2017.

He assured that security would be adequate in all the areas and called on the electorate to observe security measures during the in the exercise.

Ahwen, who used the medium to review the operations of his command in 2017, said that officers and men of NSCDC were fully prepared for the exercise.

“During the Christmas and New Year festivities, we made sure that all the flash points were manned and no single case of security challenge was recorded.

“We thank Gov. Willie Obiano for donating power-bikes, five vehicles, and other encouragements to our command,’’ he said.

Ahwen advised personnel under the command to be active in the discharge of their duties in 2018, as earlier directed by the Commandant- General.

Meanwhile, the Anambra State Government has announced partial restriction on movement in some parts of the state ahead of Saturday’s Jan.13 re-run election holding in Anambra Central Senatorial Election.

According to the statement signed by Mr Tony Nnachetta, the State Commissioner for Information and Communication Strategy, movement of individuals and vehicles would be restricted from 6.a.m till 4p.m in the seven local government areas.

The local government areas are: Idemili North & Idemili South, Njikoka, Dunukofia, Anaocha, Awka North and Awka South.

He also said that all markets in the affected local governments would be closed between 6 a.m and 4 p.m.

The commissioner also said that there would be no restrictions of movement along Enugu/Onitsha Expressway for interstate commuters.

“These partial restrictions are to encourage registered voters in the affected local government areas to go out to exercise their civic responsibilities,’’ he added.

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

Enugu Airport: Easter deadline suspended because of workers’ withdrawal from site for COVID-19, says Aviation Minister

  The Minister of Aviation, Senator Hadi Sirika, Tuesday, announced suspension of ongoing rehabilitation work …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *