Home / News / Local / Sokoto Govt dethrone 15 traditional leaders, retains 7 others
Gov. Ahmad Aliyu of Sokoto State

Sokoto Govt dethrone 15 traditional leaders, retains 7 others


The Sokoto State government has announced the immediate dethronement of 15 traditional leaders for various offences bordering on aiding insecurity, land racketeering and others, while four of their colleagues are still being investigated.

Making the decision of the state government known in a statement he signed, the Governor’s spokesperson, Abubakar Bawa, added that, of the 15 dethroned leaders, six were sacked because of non compliance with due process in their appointments.

According to Bawa, seven other traditional leaders were retained in their places while the district heads of Sabon Birni local government and his counterpart from Binji were transferred to Gatawa and Bubkari districts respectively.

The statement said the government’s action was based on the recommendations of the committee earlier set up by the Ahmed Aliyu-led government to review appointment of traditional leaders, renaming of higher institutions and dissolution of Governing Boards of State parastatals other than the statutory bodies.

The statement read in part, “District Heads of Tsaki and Asara are to retain their seats. Cases involving District Heads of Isa, Kuchi, Kilgori and Gagi were recommended for further investigation.”

Continuing, the statement said, “the District Heads of Sabon Birni and that of Binji have been transferred to Gatawa and Bubkari Districts respectively.

“The District Heads of Unguwar Lalle, Yabo, Wamakko, Tullawa, Illela, Dogon Daji, Kebbe, Alkammu and that of Giyawa have been relieved of their appointments for various offences bordering on aiding insecurity, land racketeering, conversion of public properties for personal use amongst others.

“The District Heads of Marafan Tangaza, Sarkin Gabas Kalambaina, Bunun Gogono, Saekin Kudun Yar Tsakkuwa, Sarkin Tambuwal and Sarkin Yamman Toroankawa have all been dropped hence their appointments didn’t follow process.”

Abubakar Bawa also disclosed that Alhaji Aliyu Abubakar has been retained as the Ciroman Sokoto, Ibrahim Dasuki Mohammed Maccido as Barayan Zaki, Abubakar Bukari Salame as Sarkin Arewan Salame, while Alhaji Aminu Aliyu Balle remained Sarkin Yamman Balle.

Others who also got their positions retained include Alhaji Mahmud Shahu Yabo as Sarkin Gabas Dandin Mahe, Alhaji Muntari Muhammad Tukur Ambarura as Sarkin Gabas Ambarura while Malam Isa Aliyu Rarah retains Saekin Gabas Rarah.”

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

Anniversary: AFAN advocates measures to safeguard farmers, farmlands

By Ihechinyere Chigemeri-Uwom Umuahia, May 21, 2024 The All Farmers Association of Nigeria (AFAN) has …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *