Home / News / Local / YPP emerges victorious in Akwa Ibom rerun elections

YPP emerges victorious in Akwa Ibom rerun elections

The Young Progressives Party (YPP) has secured triumph in the rerun elections for the Ikono/Ini federal constituency and the Ibiono Ibom state constituency in Akwa Ibom state. The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) conducted the elections on Saturday, February 4, amid sporadic incidents of unrest.

Results announced by Nabie Jude, the Collation Officer for the Ikono/Ini federal constituency, revealed that YPP candidate Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo garnered 24,050 votes, surpassing the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Dr. Glory Edet, who received 17,232 votes.

Nabie Jude declared, “Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo of the YPP, having satisfied the requirements of the Law, is hereby declared the winner.”

In the Ibiono Ibom State constituency rerun, Godwin Ayi, the Collation Officer, announced Moses Easien, the YPP candidate, as the winner. The YPP’s success in both constituencies marks a significant development in the political landscape of Akwa Ibom state.

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

Jose Peseiro quits Super Eagles of Nigeria coaching Job

Jose Peseiro has confirmed he is no longer the coach of the Super Eagles of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *