Home / News / Local / Osinbajo approves 19 Judges for Industrial Court
Prof. Yemi Osinbajo

Osinbajo approves 19 Judges for Industrial Court

Prof. Yemi Osinbajo

The Acting President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, has approved the appointment of 19 Judges for the National Industrial Court of Nigeria as part of measures to reduce the work load of the court that deals with labour related matters only.

The appointment, made public in Abuja, was based on the recommendation of the National Judicial Council (NJC), the body empowered by the constitution of the country to nominate qualified persons for appointment as judicial officers.
The new judges are Targema John Iorngee from Benue, Namtari Mahmood Abba from Adamawa State, Nweneka Gerald Ikechi from Rivers State, Kado Sanusi from Katsina State, Adeniyi Sinmisola Oluyinka from Ogun State, Abiola Adunola Adewemimo from Osun State, Opeloye Ogunbowale from Lagos State, Essien Isaac Jeremiah from Akwa-Ibom State and Elizabeth Ama Oji from Ebonyi State.
Others are: Arowosegbe Olukayode Ojo from Ondo State, Ogbuanya Nelson Chukwudi from Enugu State, Bashir Zaynab Mohammed from Niger State, : Galadima Ibrahim Suleiman from Nasarawa State, Bassi Paul Ahmed from Borno State and Danjidda Salisu Hamisu from Kano State.
The rest are Hamman Idi Polycarp from Taraba State, Damulak Kiyersohot Dashe from Plateau, Alkali Bashar Attahiru from Sokoto State and Mustapha Tijjani from Jigawa State.

A statement by the Director of Information in the National Judicial Council (NJC) Mr. Soji Oye indicated that the new judges will be sworn-in by the Chief Justice of Nigeria and Chairman, National Judicial Council, Justice Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen, on Friday, July 14, 2017, by 3.00pm at the Supreme Court.

Read more at: https://prnigeria.com/national/osinbajo-approves-19-judges-industrial-court/

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

WAEC officials detained at N/A over `lack of accountability`

By Femi Ogunshola Abuja, July, 24, 2024 Four officials of West African Examination Council (WAEC) …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *