Home / News / Local / PDP clinches 19 of 24 Abia assembly seats

PDP clinches 19 of 24 Abia assembly seats

Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu, Governor of Abia State

By Leonard Okachie
Umuahia, March 11, 2019

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Abia has won 19 of the 24 state constituency seats.
Mr Joseph Iloh, the Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, made the result of the March 9 election available to newsmen in Umuahia.
The All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, clinched three seats, while the All Progressives Congress (APC) won the remaining two.
385 candidates from 43 political parties contested the 24 state constituency seats.
A break down of the results showed that PDP won Aba North, Bende South, Ikwuano, Isiala Ngwa North and Isiala Ngwa South constituencies.
It also won the Obingwa East, Obingwa West, Ohafia North, Ohafia South, Osisioma North and Osisioma South seats.
Other seats won by the party included Ugwunagbo, Ukwa East, Ukwa West, Umuahia North, Umuahia Central, Umunneochi, Umuahia East and Umuahia South.
APGA won the Arochukwu, Aba North and Aba South seats, while APC won the Bende South and Isuikwato state constituencies.
12 of the winners were re-elected for second tenure, while 12 were first mandate.
The list of returnees included the Speaker, Mr Chikwendu Kalu (PDP), Majority Leader, Mr Chinedu Orji (PDP) and Abraham Obah (APGA).
Conversely, the principal officers of the house, who lost re-election included Deputy Speaker, Mr Cosmos Ndukwe (PDP) and Minority Leader, Mr Chibuzor Okogbuo (APC).

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

Americans to get N441,000 each as Trumps signs historic $2.2trn financial stimulus bill; Buhari gives directive on protection of salaries, pensions

By Harrison Arubu, New York,/Mustapha Sumaila, Abuja, March 27, 2020 President Donald Trump on Friday signed …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *