Home / Arts & Entertainment / Arts / Soyinka, Odutola, others to receive 2015 NAFCA Literary Arts Award

Soyinka, Odutola, others to receive 2015 NAFCA Literary Arts Award

Prof Wole Soyinka
Prof Wole Soyinka

The NAFCA Honors Hollywood 2015 organization has announced the recipients of the prestigious NAFCA Literary Arts Award for this year.

The recipients for this year’s award include: Mr. Wole Soyinka, Dr. Kole Odutola, Dr. Fumi Hancock and Mrs. Odile Koudou, who are well known for their work as a civil rights activist, artist, and prolific body of work includes writing poetry, memoirs, novels and plays.

They will be honoured on the 12th of September at the historic Orpheum Theatre of Hollywood. Mr. Soyinka will also be honoured with a Lifetime Achievement award.

Wole Soyinka was born on July 13, 1934 in Nigeria and educated in England. In 1986, the playwright and political activist became the first African to receive the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Dr. Fumi Princess S. Hancock is the President of Cambium Break Pictures, and the host of a Lifestyle Talk Show, The Princess in Suburbia.

Dr. Kole Odutola’s first degree is in Botany with interest in ecology and genetics. Thereafter, he changed from the natural sciences to social sciences and finally to language teaching. His educational background also spans three continents; namely Africa, Europe and the Americas.

Odile Koudou is an African-born author of the newly released book “The Blessing Legacy” the book, which is a memoir, on Africa’s Ivory Coast , Odile Koudou is daughter to Orega Koudou.

The NAFCA Literary Arts category is to recognize the finest achievements of African authors in several genres and individual contributions to creative writing thus; promoting Africa’s most celebrated writers, publishers and thinkers to the world.

The NAFCA Special Honors were presented for the first time in 2011 to President Nelson Mandela.

Recipients of this prestigious award in subsequent years include His Imperial Majesty Kabiyesi Alaiyeluwa Oba Okunade Sijuwade Olubuse II The Ooni of Ife, President Paul Biya, President Yahya Jammeh of The Gambia, President Michel J. Martelly of Haiti, Governor Isa Yuguda (Bauchi State), Honorable Ama Muna Tutu the Cameroon minister of Arts and Culture, Dr. Folorunsho Alakija, Mr. Ben Bruce, Oscars’ award winner Louis Gossett Jr., Hollywood actors Glynn Thurman and Keith David just to name a few.

The NAFCA Honors are awards of merit and are considered the highest internationally recognized African awards in Hollywood.

The 4th African Oscars – NAFCA Awards was held at the prestigious Saban Theatre in Beverly Hills, United States.

About Global Patriot Staff

Check Also

Joe’s Market, Newark, New Jersey, re-opened; Alleged plastic fish sent for analysis

 Joe’s Fish Market on South Orange Avenue, in Newark, New Jersey, United States, has been …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *